Evernote = Everknit (CPD23 Thing 9)

Okay when I first looked at Evernote I wasn’t really sure how I could use it. I already use delicious to bookmark websites, use Mendeley for recording relevant journal articles and websites and Remember the Milk for a to do list. So where does Evernote fit in?

Well I did find a use for it, but not in a professional capacity. I’ve used to to store knitting patterns. I tend to knit on the go, during my commute to and from work. I also tend to need a detailed knitting pattern, so when a pattern says ” repeat 4-row pattern for next 160 rows, I need to write out that 160 rows so I can check off what rows I have done when I’ve done them. Evernote lets me do exactly this, it even has a little checkbox feature so I can tick off the row on Evernote when I have finished it, handy when I’m faced with knitting gibberish like

slip1, k1;
yfwd, k1; (ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k3) x ?; ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k1, yfwd
K1
yfwd, k1; (ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k3) x ?; ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k1, yfwd
K1
yfwd, k1; (ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k3) x ?; ssk, k1, yfwd, k1, yfwd, k1, k2tog; k1, yfwd;

and that is just one row!

So now when I am commuting I have the knitting pattern on the Evernote app on my phone and can check off each row (or part of row in this pattern) which is great and I don’t lose the critical bit of paper the pattern is written on.

I haven’t experienced the problems others have encountered downloading a desktop version, primarily because I haven’t downloaded a desktop version. I am presuming that it has more functionality but I’ve been happy enough with the functionality on the web and my phone are good enough for me.

Now I’ve eased myself into Evernote for this purpose I am looking at ways I can include it in my work as well, although I am tempted by the suggestion from @Samanthahalf to turn it into a recipe database as well.

One thing that does concern me though is the amount of data the app uses on my phone. For the first time ever I have nearly reached my monthly data limit, I normally don’t even get close. I am counting down the days until it gets updated. I’m not certain it is Evernote and it may well be due to Snape, Snape, Severus Snape. Time (and phone bill) will tell

About Lynne Meehan
Librarian interested in teaching, infolit, ux and open access. Also Mum, knitter, baker, walker and very amateur photographer. I may also like cows.

4 Responses to Evernote = Everknit (CPD23 Thing 9)

  1. Niamh says:

    Maybe it’s possible to use the app off-line?

    • Lynne Meehan says:

      Ooh didn’t consider that as was updating note as I went along, bit it does work. Only Snape left to suck up my data.

    • Lynne Meehan says:

      Thanks Niamh, it does indeed work and I can mark each row off, I am a happy bunny now. Although this week I am knitting from a pattern I wrote out on paper, I feel I have let myself down.

  2. I hadn’t noticed the ticky-box option – thanks for prompting me to search it out! I have a rather more laissez-faire attitude to knitting, and how many repeats I’ve done. Frankly, I trust my counting up of rows/repeats knitted more than I trust myself to tick/mark off each row/rpt as I do it! I guess I should try it the sensible way though, in case it revolutionises my life!

