Speak up – I can’t hear you (Thing 16 – CPD23)

When I first saw that we would be covering this I did feel a little uncomfortable about it. There was a lot of debate generated and I felt unwilling to post anything as I would be admitting that I’m not marching with banners and defending my local library. I’ll apologise now to those that are and are spending a vast amount of time defending our public libraries, I think it’s amazing that you are. I do feel guilty for not doing more, especially considering the sterling work put in by others, but also know that I have a lot of other commitments that are also important to me and wouldn’t have time or energy that the campaign deserves.

However the more I thought about it, the more I realised that I do advocate for libraries, especially the library I work in every day and I think I’m doing a damn good job of it. I advocate to students  by going that extra step to help them. I advocate to staff which, if I judge it by how much teaching I am now doing,  has worked extremely well this year. I am also far more involved with my departments and the academics in them.

So although I may not be marching on the front line, I know that I have increased awareness of the library in my own institution, and that the students and staff I talk to appreciate the various services the library provides. And I will continue to do this, day in, day out.

As for getting published, not likely to happen this year, but very tempted by the LIRG/CILIP London Writing for Publication event happening in January, although if I want to go I better get signed up as there seems to be lots of interest in it.

About Lynne Meehan
Librarian interested in teaching, infolit, ux and open access. Also Mum, knitter, baker, walker and very amateur photographer. I may also like cows.

Comments are closed.

