Volunteering (Thing 22 – CPD23)

As much as we all don’t want to work for free, there are good reasons to volunteer. The summer before my final year I volunteered to work in a lab so I could get work experience. I lasted a few weeks but didn’t make it all the way through the summer break. Lab work just wasn’t for me, however I still rate this experience as without it I would never discovered that I didn’t want to work in labs until it was too late.

I also do a fair amount of volunteering in my spare time, previously volunteering for my local NCT and now being a governor at my children’s local school. This has given me lots of transferable skills that I can use in my current role, e.g. event organisation, time management, dealing with data and people skills.

Would I volunteer in my local library if threatened with closure, that is the hard question. I would want to keep this invaluable resource open to all, but not sure I could replace the fantastic staff that work there. Not only because I believe the libraries need staff, but also because I am in awe of the work they do, to my mind it is the staff that work there that make that library brilliant.

So if you can spare time to volunteer I would say there are advantages to doing it, but I am also very glad to be paid for the work I do.

About Lynne Meehan
Librarian interested in teaching, infolit, ux and open access. Also Mum, knitter, baker, walker and very amateur photographer. I may also like cows.

Comments are closed.

